Donate Now!

0131 622 6263 info@sands-lothians.org.uk

Education

IMG 0560We are involved in many training and education sessions within the 3 hospitals we support and local Universities.

We are involved in teaching sessions with 4th year medical students at Edinburgh University. This is an extremely valuable insight into the experience of perinatal death for the medical students. At these sessions we ask a bereaved parent to tell their story during which the students find very informative and are always very moved by the parents' experiences. Please contact us if you would like to be involved in this.

We offer student midwives placements with SANDS Lothians as part of their training. This can prove beneficial as it allows students to gain experience in supporting bereaved parents and their families after they have experienced the death of their baby.
We have many visits from Adult Nursing Students whilst on placement to gain an overview of the services we provide. Please contact us to organise a visit.

Our chief executive is also one of SANDS UK Bereavement Care Trainers in Scotland and can provide training to midwives and multi agency groups. SANDS Lothians try to fund our local hospital training events. If you are a professional looking for training in your hospital then please visit https://www.uk-sands.org/professional-training for more information.

IMG 0499
IMG 0666
IMG 0669

Next Meetings

  • Befriending Group

    Befriending Group - Edinburgh

    Craiglockhart Centre, 177 Colinton Road Edinburgh EH14 1BZ

    Mon 9th Jan 2017         7-9 PM

    Mon 6th Feb 2017         7-9 PM

    Mon 6th Mar 2017         7-9 PM

     

    Befriending Group - West Lothian

    NEW PREMISES - Unit 3, Carmondean Business Units, Carmondean Centre South Road , Livingston, EH54 8PT   

    Mon 9th  Jan 2017       7-9 PM

    Mon 13th Feb 2017      7-9 PM

    Mon 13th Mar 2017      7-9 PM

  • Counselling

    We have free counselling available in Edinburgh and West Lothian. Please email info@sands-lothians.org.uk for more information or to seek an appointment.

  • Miscarriage Support

    Edinburgh Miscarriage Support Group

    Craiglockhart Centre, 177 Colinton Road, Edinburgh EH14 1BZ

    Meetings are on the second Wednesday of every month

    next meetings

    Wed 11th Jan 2017      7.45 - 9.45 PM

    Wed 8th Feb 2017      7.45 - 9.45 PM

    Wed 8th Mar 2017      7.45 - 9.45 PM

  • Parent and Toddler

    Parent and Toddler

    WEST LOTHIAN - JAKS DEN, GEDDES HOUSE, LIVINGSTON, EH54 6GU

    Meet on the last Tuesday of every month

    Tues 31st Jan 2017         9.30 - 11.30 AM

    Tues 28th Feb 2017        9.30 - 11.30 AM

    Tues 28th Mar 2017        9.30 - 11.30 AM

     

    EDINBURGH - BABIES AND BUMPS CAFE, 13-15 CHURCHILL PLACE, EDINBURGH, EH10 4BE

    Meet on the Second Thursday of each Month

    Thur 19th Jan 2017           9.30 - 11.30 AM

    Thur 23rd Feb 2017           9.30 - 11.30 AM

    Thur 16th Mar 2017           9.30 - 11.30 AM

     

     

  • Subsequent Pregnancy Support

    Pregnancy Support Group - Edinburgh

    Mon 23rd Jan 2017       7-9 PM

    Mon 20th Feb 2017       7-9 PM

    Mon 20th Mar 2017       7-9 PM

  • TTC / IVF Assisted Conception Fertility Support

    TTC / IVF            Assisted Conception               Fertility Support - Edinburgh

    Tues 17th Jan 2017       7-9 PM

    Tues 7th Feb 2017        7-9 PM

    Tues 7th Mar 2017        7-9 PM